Nebraska Local Section

Welcome to the Nebraska Section

The Nebraska Local Section has been innovating since 1894 when it became the 7th local section and the first West of the Mississippi. It was founded by fourteen men and women and was the first local section to have women members, Dr. Rachel Lloyd and Rosa Bouton.  The Nebraska local section covers most of the state of Nebraska, except for the counties that are part of the Omaha Local Section. Our section covers the third largest land area in the United States. Only the Montana and Wyoming Local Sections cover more area. Today, our meetings take place during the academic months at a different college or University across the state: Concordia University, Doane College, Hastings College, Union College, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, University of Nebraska at Kearney, and Wayne State College.